click button


Roger Kim's work investigates the intersections of rhythm, harmony, orchestration, improvisation, and the juxtaposition of various disciplines including music, dance, and visual media. He has presented work with the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players Ensemble, with the Aperture Duo, and at the New Frequencies Festival at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. He studied with Myra Melford at UC Berkeley and completed an MFA at the California Institute of the Arts where he studied with Jessika Kenney, Eyvind Kang, Steve Lehman, and Nick Deyoe.

Contact Roger directly: roger@rogerkimmusic.com (510) 557-4047




Portrait Maker

Portrait Maker is an experimental chamber ensemble that marries melody, unorthodox harmony, improvisation, complex rhythm, and theater in a strange and beautiful polygamous relationship.

Click a link below to view video:

Press for Portrait Maker:
Wedge Radio
Bird is The Worm

Portrait Maker has included, but is not limited to:
Roger Kim: Guitar/Banjo
Ryan Pate: Guitar
Andrea Wang: Vocals
Marica Petrey: Vocals
Tiffany Lantello: Vocals
Karen Joyce: Vocals
Eli Wirtschafter: Violin/Narration
Mia Nardi-Huffman: Violin
Francesco Canas: Violin
Zachary Hazen: Violin/Viola
Evan Buttemer: Viola
Misha Khalikulov: Cello
Daniel Brown: Cello
Wells Leng: Cello
Debbie Gold: Flute
Rafael Luna: Flute
Michelle Lee: Alto Flute
Rachel Hacker: Alto Flute
Steven Lugerner: Alto Flute/Bb Clarinet
Jason Gillenwater: Bb Clarinet
Kyle Beard: Bass Clarinet
Cody Putman: Bassoon
Hannah Westbrook: Dance
Julia Havard: Dance
Mackenzie Dolginow: Dance
Aru Gonzalez: Dance
Lauren Hamilton: Dance
Maria Moon: Dance
Aejay Mitchell: Dance


Chamber Music

Installations and Interactive Projects



Other Interactive Performance